We ❤ you

The LGF aims to help lesbian and bisexual women to lead healthy and happy lives. We provide a range of services to enhance mental health and wellbeing as well as offering opportunities for women to socialise, learn new skills and access support if they need it. We can also advise you of other social and support services for lesbian and bisexual women in and around Manchester.

Wellbeing Services

 

Our wellbeing services aim to help give you the support you need. Our services for women include:

Face-to-face and telephone counselling 
Telephone and email helpline
Befriending
Legal and Police Advice Surgeries
Wellbeing Clinic

Check out the video above for a look at how our wellbeing services work!

Groups 

The LGF offers two groups for lesbian and bisexual women:
Carousel
 - a relaxed social group
Stepping Stones
 - a support group which provides a safe and welcoming space for women who are new to the area, 'coming out', have just come out of a relationship or simply want other women to share experiences with.

The LGF also hosts a mixed LGBT Art Class

Click here to find out more about our groups for women.

 

Monthly Workshops

We offer a range of FREE monthly skills workshops for lesbian, bisexual and transgender women and their friends. Workshop topics vary widely - from cake decorating to circus skills, sign language to bike maintenance, we try to provide an interesting programme of activities.

Check out our video over there on the right which shows some of our recent workshops. Featuring LGF staff and volunteers, this video is designed to give you a taster of some of the skills you can learn through our fantstic workshop programme.

For more information on our workshops for women click here.

Volunteering

At the LGF we benefit from the help of over 150 volunteers, many of them women. As we offer more services for women, we are increasingly looking for more female volunteers.

From taking calls on our helpline or supporting a group to going out to let others know about the LGF or acting as a befriender for a woman who is new to the area or just coming out – there is something for everyone.

Our short video about the different ways you can get involved, is really worth a watch!

If you're interested in volunteering with us, click here to find out more

For more information about any of our services for women call 0845 3 30 30 30 or email women@lgf.org.uk.

Useful Links

Below are some useful links to organisations, venues and events that may be of use to lesbian and bisexual women. If you know of a link that should appear here, email women@lgf.org.uk to let us know. 

Support for women

The Lesbian & Gay Foundation - call our Helpline on 0845 3 30 30 30, email women@lgf.org.uk or visit us at Number Five Richmond Street, Manchester M1 3HF.

Breast Cancer Care – www.breastcancercare.org.uk

End The Fear (Domestic abuse support across Greater Manchester) - www.endthefear.co.uk

Lesbian Immigration Support Group – lesbianimmigrationsupportgroup.blogspot.co.uk

Manchester Rape Crisis – www.manchesterrapecrisis.co.uk

Manchester Women’s Aid – www.manchesterwomensaid.org

Trans Resource & Empowerment Centre (TREC) – www.transcentre.org.uk

Social Listings

DIVA Magazine – www.divamag.co.uk

g3 magazine – www.g3mag.co.uk

Gaydar Girls – www.gaydargirls.com

Ginger Beer – www.gingerbeer.co.uk

Lesbilicious – www.lesbilicious.co.uk

L Fest – www.lfest.co.uk

The Pink Sofa – www.thepinksofa.co.uk

The Well Connected Lesbian – www.wellconnectedlesbian.com

Venues, social and sports groups

Biphoria (social group for bisexual people) – www.biphoria.co.uk

Cornerhouse Film Group (women's social group who go to watch films at The Cornerhouse) - email rachelm.cross@btinternet.com

Coyotes Bar Manchester (bar in Manchester’s gay village, popular with LB women) –www.coyotesbar.co.uk

Let’s Do Lunch (bi-monthly LB women’s dining group) – www.lesbiandiners.co.uk

Lik:T (young women’s health & peer project) – www.likt.org.uk

Manchester Jessies (LB women’s walking group) – www.manchesterjessies.co.uk

Manchester Feminist Network – manchesterfeministnetwork.wordpress.com

Manchester Frontrunners (LGB running group with some women’s competitions) –www.manchesterfrontrunners.org

Manchester Sharks (LGBT waterpolo club with monthly women’s sessions) –www.manchestersharks.co.uk

Manchester Stingers (women’s football team) – www.manchesterstingers.co.uk

Manchester Walking Women (LB women’s walking group) – uk.groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/manchester-ww

New Family Social (social group for LGBT adoptive or foster parents) –www.newfamilysocial.co.uk

Northern Aces (LGBT tennis club with occasional women’s sessions) –www.northernacestennis.com

Northern Wave (LGBT swimming club with weekly women-only sessions) –www.northernwave.org

Out In The City (social group for older LGBT people) - – outinthecity05.webs.com

Peak Rufties (lesbian hiking group) – peakrufties.webs.com

Rainbow Families (social group for LB women who have or are thinking of having children) –www.rainbowfamilies-manchester.co.uk

Rapture (very popular monthly women’s club night) – www.raptureclubnight.co.uk

Slam Dunkin’ Divas (LBT women’s basketball club) – sites.google.com/site/slamdunkindivas/

SM Dykes (group for women into SM) – www.smdykes.org.uk

The Nip & Tipple (bar in South Manchester, popular with LB women) – www.nipandtipple.com

Todmorden Women's Disco (long established women's disco held 2nd Sat of the month) - www.facebook.com/TodmordenLadiesDisco

Vanilla (women's bar in the Gay Village) - www.vanillagirls.co.uk/

Village Bakers (LGBT social group for folks who like to bake) - www.facebook.com/VillageBakers